ORC- Week 5- Final Countdown

Holy smokes, I can’t believe we are on week 5! This is it. The final countdown has officially begun. I have the photographer coming Monday so really I have like 3 days to pull this room off. Which means I will be in “the Zone” this weekend and there will be little chance of socializing, except to call my Momma and wish her a happy Mother’s Day..Love you mom!

~Wishing all Mom’s a happy Mother’s Day weekend! Thank you for all you do.

If you remember from last week’s post I wasn’t sure if my headboard was going to make it in time. The good news is that it’s at my freight company in High Point, NC, the bad news is they don’t have me scheduled for delivery until Monday-no bueno! So, I have tasked my husband with driving to the freight company in HP to pick it up for me tomorrow. THANK goodness for supportive husbands!!

If you are just joining in on the fun you can catch up on week one, two, three, and four here about the process and progress of the room.

Here’s all the good stuff that happened this week. Remember I was keeping the vanity on the down low? I’ve decided to share what I’ve been up to on it. Let me first tell you that this vanity was not my first choice, or second, or maybe even third. I took to long to make a decision on the first choice and before I knew it, there was no-way it was going to be delivered to me within my time-line. The second and third choice may have been slightly out of budget or way out of budget according to my husband:).  Finally, after hours of searching we found one on a close-out for $174.00. Yep, you read that correctly $174.00 for a brand new 45″ vanity base. It was not at all what I pictured but for that price I knew I could make it work!  Ready to see it?

Vanity series

I have to admit for a minute I though about leaving it red. It complimented the blue in the shower tile nicely -but like I said that lasted a minute. I wanted calm and serene for the room, the red wasn’t anywhere near calm and serene, fun maybe but not calming or relaxing. It took me about 4 hours to sand all the lacquer off ~that was not so fun! Then it got a marine base primer and 3 coats and some touch up of high gloss SW Balmy. Viola!

I would love to hear your thoughts on this one? Do you like the red or blue color?

Loving this Kohler faucet!

Faucet vanity

 

Here’s a little peek at what will be going in the room this weekend. I just got my euro bed pillows and draperies back from the workroom today, I literally was giggling like a little girl over these pillows! I love them!! And these lamps from Robert Abbey are stunning. Notice I am also giving you a teaser of my special art project that E Angelina Woehr has been working on for this room.

 

Blues

 

Thank you again for joining me this week. Please be sure to see what great things are happening with all the other ORC featured designers and guest participants. Join me again in one week for the final reveal. If you don’t already follow me on Instagram be sure to take a peek, I might be posting some previews of the room coming together.

See you next week!

cropped-cropped-icon4.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “ORC- Week 5- Final Countdown

  1. Jana I adore the sneak peeks and I can’t wait for the reveal! I love the direction the space is going in. As a fellow ORC participant it’s been wonderful to gather some fantastic inspiration. I’d love for you to share your progress at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. Our readers would love to see it. The gathering is at http://www.decortoadore.net

  2. I think I have a pretty talented daughter!! As dedicated, hard working, and detail orientated as you are, I have no doubt you will win this! Beautiful work! Love seeing the progress each week!!

  3. This is going to be so pretty. I loved the red but totally get the idea of a serene space. The piece of furniture has a beautiful shape and was a great choice for the vanity.

    Thanks so much for joining Thoughts of Home.

Leave a Reply

